Skip to content

BTT: Booking Through the Holidays

January 7, 2010

btt2

Barbara wants to know:

What books did you get for Christmas (or whichever holiday you may have celebrated last month)?

Do you usually ask for books on gift-giving occasions or do you prefer to buy them yourself?

I actually received not one single book, this holiday season. Am I ok with this? Of course. I usually come into several books and myriad cards of varying denominations from big warehouse chains and locals. Why didn’t I? And more pressingly, why isn’t this upsetting? As I’ve mentioned, previously, and as one can see by the lack of entries over the past few months, I have been well doused in activities preventing my regularly scheduled reading. Working 7-7 and then tending to a son and husband and two adorable children, I mean, dogs, makes a gal hit the pillow hard at the end of the day. I have been reading every day but I’m just not chugging through books as rapidly at the moment.

Rehashed excuses aside, I’ll get to my point. Without the need, there is no supply. Perhaps the more realistic reason my family members didn’t fill my shelves this year was because I’ve been relying heavily on the library, when I do get a chance to peek between pages. Also, the people I tend to get the most from, books or cards, are my in-laws and they got, for me, instead, a NOOK! It hasn’t arrived so I’ve been using my library and purchased TBR pile as backup.

I gave several books to family, this year, namely, several YA reads that I knew would be along the lines of past reading affinities. I generally prefer to give and recieve gift cards, though. While some may think it generic, any real book lover knows that a bookaholic doesn’t just like reading books, she likes shopping and searching for the perfect one. Ok, maybe that’s a generalization of my own that I’m reflecting on unsuspecting bookies. Still, I like to think anyone I’d get a book  for would also like browsing the aisles, card and coffee in hand, knowing he or she can have the run of the store.

Are you a card carrier or a book bringer? Did you trade paperback for e-gadget, this year? Or would you simply prefer to have family and friends give the gift of a donation to your favorite local lending spot?

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 16, 2010 11:44 pm

    I love getting books as gifts. I got two this year: Twitter Power (didn’t ask for but I liked it) and Harry a History (asked for it but haven’t had a chance to read it yet.) I also gave books as gifts to my mom and my stepson. And kids’ magazines to my nephew. You have to practice what you preach. Well, you don’t have to, but it’s nice. 🙂

Leave a Reply

