Skip to content

How I’ve missed you, dear blog.

November 29, 2009

The Sunday Salon.com

I am a lifelong optimist.

I see the good in most things and I tend to think all will work out for the best.

In making the change from essentially staying at home (with a few hours on the clock for coaching or personal training) to teaching 7-4 while keeping said sports and gym time, my blogging fell victim to that beloved optimism.

I thought I’d be able to keep up my pace when I hit the classroom. Well, I just looked at my TBR pile and blogged calendar. November, in retrospect looks pretty bleak. I contemplated dissolving the blog but I think that once the excitement of all things new settle down and I find a steady, albeit different, rhythm I’ll be able to make peace with a new pace.

A minor (ok, maybe not so minor but I’m trying not to get my hopes up!) piece of data that will most likely help is a possible, pending Nook for winter-holidays. Now don’t get too excited because I’m not sure that it’s coming but, I have my reasons for that old beloved optimism.

How has your reading changed over time? Through moving, marriage, babies, new jobs, lost jobs, what does your TBR/blogging look like? How do you keep afloat when life threatens to get in the way of reading?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 29, 2009 1:14 pm

    My reading and blogging changed once the school year began. During the summer, I have so much more time to do both. But I have vacations to look forward to where I will try to get caught up in both!

    What grade are you teaching?

  2. November 29, 2009 6:15 pm

    I find I have to accept it as flexible… A ‘schedule’ is something that I barely recognize. I have two young kids, a husband who works crazy hours, freelance journalism work that flies out of no where, and, of course, my writing. So when do I read? When I can. But definitely every night before I fall asleep. I fit it in then or I cannot fall asleep.

    But the answer is: flexibility. And knowing that I cannot be happy without some reading in my life!

    Glad you made your way back!
    Michele
    SouthernCityMysteries

  3. December 1, 2009 5:38 am

    Hi! I landed on your blog because we will both be in Dreadlockgirl’s readathon in the coming weekend! And since I’m just curious who are participating I thought I’d make a tour ;-).

    I recognize your problem here. My life *always* has been busy and hectic, one way or the other. And sometimes I just read less or not at all. I guess that’s life. And I will pick up whenever I can. That’s where the readathon comes in handy, for me at least. Just moved countries so big changes and really needed a kickstart for my reading again.

    So good luck, I’m sure you will find your balance again when things will settle down!

Leave a Reply

