Skip to content

BTT: Good Until the Bitter End?

November 12, 2009

btt2

“Life is too short to read bad books.” I’d always heard that, but I still read books through until the end no matter how bad they were because I had this sense of obligation.

That is, until this week when I tried (really tried) to read a book that is utterly boring and unrealistic. I had to stop reading.

Do you read everything all the way through or do you feel life really is too short to read bad books?


Don’t forget to leave a link to your actual response (so people don’t have to go searching for it) in the comments—or if you prefer, leave your answers in the comments themselves!

Let’s see, how shall I answer this?  A book is generally 300-500 pages and isn’t all that much of a sacrifice. I think I follow Ben Harper’s “Don’t knock it before you try it” theory, all the way to the end: I can’t justly defend my opinion on a book if I haven’t finished it.

That said, if it’s truly awful, I’ll put it down. Life is certainly not that short but, of course, there is no point at all to doing something that is allegedly for pleasure if it’s going to make you miserable. I’m also more likely to drop a book if it’s from the library as I’ve wasted no resources on it. Although, if I’ve made it a good chunk of the way through the story, I’ll usually keep plugging as my resource, then, becomes time.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 12, 2009 10:02 am

    Basically, I continue reading. I think it has something to do with spending money on the book and not wanting to waste it. LOL But, I have stopped reading a library book, if I didn’t like it.

  2. November 12, 2009 11:34 am

    My answer is pretty similar. I’m more inclined to keep going, but if I felt it was truly bad or a waste of time, I’d probably abandon it.

  3. November 12, 2009 12:16 pm

    I also feel much better about dropping a book I have checked out from the library. It rather annoys me when I have paid for a book and it turns out to be poorly written. That doesn’t happen too often, but still…

  4. November 12, 2009 4:34 pm

    I am more happy to give a 1star rating to a bad book I didn’t finish then to one I did. (I think) hahaha

    Here is my response
    http://teawithmarce.blogspot.com/2009/11/booking-through-thursday-to-short.html#comments

  5. November 12, 2009 9:17 pm

    I say if you can tell you don’t like it, don’t waste your time. It’s a personal decision. I certainly feel confident enough in my own tastes to put down a book that is frustrating me from boring word to boring word. Life is short, but quiet time when one has two young kids running around is even shorter. So reading time is precious!

    Michele
    https://iwriteinbooks.wordpress.com/

  6. November 12, 2009 9:17 pm

    Sorry
    meant my blog, not yours : )
    Michele
    SouthernCityMysteries

  7. November 13, 2009 12:08 am

    I usually say that I will get back to them later and don’t. There is a special kind of misery in reading a book you don’t like.

  8. November 13, 2009 2:20 am

    Since I don’t have many spare time to read, therefore for me life is too short to read bad book

  9. November 19, 2009 2:26 am

    I really, really try to finish a book I start, too, but I’ve given up a few lately.

Leave a Reply

