Skip to content

Just another manic Sunday

October 25, 2009

The Sunday Salon.com

For the first time in a long time I finished three books in a week and actually feel justified in writing a wrap-up post for the past seven days.

I am not, generally, a mystery reader but The Hound of the Baskervilles and The Big Over Easy may have changed my camp. Doyle was a genius and Fforde does an excellent parody of said genius.

In the middle of the creepy suspense, I made a first step toward the Middle Grade challenge being held by Linda Ellen @ Bambi Reads, in Despereaux.

Speaking of challenges, I want to just congratulate everyone wrapping up his or her 24-hour reading challenge! I didn’t quite get my act together in time to put my nose to the grind but I did enjoy reading and commenting on the active challenge posts. even though I wasn’t participating, it reminded me of how wonderful the blogging community is and how excited people other than myself can get about staying up on a Saturday reading books.

deweys-readathonbutton

Coming up next week, I’m hoping to nail down a few books I’m halfway through and just need to finish:


and a few new YA’s that need to head back to the library, soon:


So that’s the long and short of it. If you were brave/dedicated enough to complete the challenge, how did it go? Well, on second thought, never mind, don’t answer that. Just go get some sleep! If you didn’t, how did you weekend reading go? What have you got planned for the coming week?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2009 12:54 pm

    You had a great week! It looks like you’ve got some awesome books to look forward to.

  2. October 25, 2009 6:26 pm

    Congratulations on the read-a-thon and I hope you enjoy the rest of your books! πŸ™‚

  3. October 25, 2009 11:26 pm

    I love Sherlock Holmes! I haven’t read any Fforde yet, but his The Eyre Affair is in my tbr pile. I’m looking forward to reading his work – I’ve heard so many good things about his novels!

  4. October 26, 2009 4:06 pm

    Those books you’re planning on finishing this week look great! I love mysteries, but I’m picky about authors. πŸ™‚

  5. October 26, 2009 10:02 pm

    Someone recently gave me Shadow of the Wind and said it was excellent. I’ll look forward to what you have to say about it! It is one of the many books sitting on my night stand.
    Margo πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

