Skip to content

BTT: Ask an Author

October 22, 2009

btt2

“If you could ask your favorite author (alive or dead) one question … who would you ask, and what would the question be?

Don’t forget to leave a link to your actual response (so people don’t have to go searching for it) in the comments—or if you prefer, leave your answers in the comments themselves!”

This is a hard one.

I would ask…
…Hemingway what he REALLY thought about women.
…Pynchon if he meant Inherent Vice to be a joke.
…Eco what he thinks about Dan Brown.
…Sartre what he thinks about existentialism in an age of commercial fatalism.
…Hesse what he thinks the melding of East and West has become in 2009.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. novelinsights permalink
    October 22, 2009 5:32 am

    Hmm. I kind of wanted to know what Wilkie Collins thought about women but asked it in a round-about way. I like the Eco / Dan Brown question – you’ve still got a chance to find out too!

  2. October 22, 2009 6:02 am

    I wonder who’s eco is?? and why do you ask him about dan brown?

    • iwriteinbooks permalink*
      October 25, 2009 8:35 am

      Haha Umberto Eco is a current, living writer of some great adventure stories. One of the reasons I would ask the question is based on the media comparing two of his books (The Name of the Rose and Foucault’s Pendulum) to The DaVinci Code and Angels& Demons. I don’t really understand the comparison and heavily favor Eco to Brown but I just wonder if Eco feels the same way.

  3. October 22, 2009 7:23 am

    Oh, I LOVE the Sartre one!!!

    I was thinking about writing a question to de Beauvoir and asking her what she thought about women today. Actually, I might edit my answer now!

  4. October 22, 2009 10:05 am

    Perfect! I’d love to hear Hemingway’s answer!

  5. October 22, 2009 10:06 am

    Good questions!!
    Dan Brown.. Hmm.
    The BTT post is here at The Burton Review!

  6. October 22, 2009 10:50 am

    Love the questions – especially Hemingway.

  7. October 22, 2009 1:20 pm

    I would like to know Eco’s thoughts about Dan brown!

    Booking Through Questioning the Bard

  8. ireadnow permalink
    October 22, 2009 4:57 pm

    Interesting questions…

    I think I’d ask Hemingway if “Hills Like White Elephants” is just a transcript of some conversation that he had. It definitely feels that way.

  9. October 22, 2009 6:34 pm

    Great list of questions!!

  10. October 22, 2009 6:35 pm

    That’s great ! I almost chose Hesse as well. I probably would have asked him something about The Glass Bead Game.

  11. October 22, 2009 7:51 pm

    Great choices. I have Hemingway on my ‘to ask’ list as well.

  12. October 22, 2009 11:35 pm

    I’d ask Sylvia Plath if she had to do it all over again, would she still kill herself?
    Same with Virginia Woolf–
    I always wondered if they had lived in different times, would they have climbed out of their depression.

  13. October 23, 2009 2:38 pm

    I like it! Someone willing to ask the tough questions.

Leave a Reply

