Skip to content

BTT: Tear-Jerker

September 24, 2009

btt2

What’s the saddest book you’ve read recently?

(Is any body getting bored with this series of “recent” questions? Because I’m having fun!)

The last book (and I do mean very last as I finished it at 11:30 last night) I read was most likely the saddest. It would also fit in last week’s category as the most enjoyable. E.L. Doctorow’s Homer and Langley is about the best book I’ve read in a decade and I promise I’m not exaggerating. It’s fantastic. Based on the Manhattan urban legend (steeped in a whole lot of weird truth) Doctorow’s chronicle of the Collyer brothers, has a Forest Gump-like beat with inevitable ups and downs but eventually deeper downs. Wonderful and well worth the read, the book is definitely sad.


10 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2009 4:04 am

    I am going to have to look into this one.

    Here’s mine:

    http://thebookresort.blogspot.com/2009/09/booking-through-thursday.html#

  2. September 24, 2009 4:52 am

    Well I certainly liked Forest Gump, so sounds good.

  3. September 24, 2009 5:40 am

    I am now going to have to look this one up, it sounds really interesting!

  4. September 24, 2009 5:59 am

    I gotta check it out. It sounds wonderful to me.

    Booking through Sad Ones

  5. September 24, 2009 6:12 am

    Sounds really good. My first thought for the saddest was the one I used for most entertaining too!

  6. novelinsights permalink
    September 24, 2009 9:45 am

    Lucky that it was right for this weeks’s BTT! Sounds like it really moved you.

  7. September 24, 2009 10:28 am

    Hmmmm…sounds interesting, although I don’t think I’ve read any Doctorow.

    http://busyisreading.blogspot.com/2009/09/booking-through-thursday_24.html

  8. September 24, 2009 12:12 pm

    that was a sad case the Collyer brothers. Here is mine:

    http://bibliophilebythesea.blogspot.com/2009/09/booking-through-thursday-saddest-reads.html

  9. September 24, 2009 12:39 pm

    I’ve seen this book around, and now I’m definitely going to have to check it out.

  10. September 24, 2009 3:43 pm

    I’ve been a sucker of tear-jerker, both books and movies. I’ve got Marley and Me and The Heart is a Lonely Hunter. Now I have to check this one out.

Leave a Reply

