Skip to content

Next year, I’ll try harder.

September 19, 2009

Because I have been so busy lately, I thought I would steal the Book Blogger Appreciation Week Meme. I’m still not quite sure how the whole thing works, if I’m allowed to participate even if I wasn’t nominated or what constitutes membership in the community but I’m playing anyway! Next year, I promise to make a clear and conscious effort to understand how to get involved in BBAW.

Do you snack while you read? If so, favorite reading snack?
I don’t because I tend to have a book in hand at all times and if every time I read I ate, well, I would certainly run low on snacks wouldn’t I? As far as my nomination for favorite snack? Oh, far and away, sandwiches at the Library or their soy mochas.

Do you tend to mark your books as you read, or does the idea of writing in books horrify you?
I shall now direct you to the name of my blog. Although, I do tend to earmark rather than out and out write, these days. I am slowly growing accustomed to using library books. I’ve learned to take notes rather than destroy love my books.

How do you keep your place while reading a book? Bookmark? Dog-ears? Laying the book flat open?
Any bit of paper or unmarking substance that is within my reach at the moment I need to stop reading becomes a book mark. I have grown attached to certain book marks or receipts, in the past, but I’ve always lost them so I try not to form bonds, now. Burned by love, you know.

Fiction, Non-fiction, or both?
I go through phases. Sometimes it’s all philosophy and fantasy, sometimes it’s all baseball and politics. Depends on the moon, I suppose.

Hard copy or audiobooks?
Pardon me while I put on my snob hat but reading, for me is plain and simple: words on a page. I don’t do audio books. Call it my love for music (and abhorance of any other aural sound) or my affection for the written word as written not spoken but I can’t handle books-en-tape. That said, I do appreciate our forbearers like Homer, for passing stories on before they had the means to be written down. Thanks you, Homer. Joyce, the verdict is still out.

Are you a person who tends to read to the end of chapters, or are you able to put a book down at any point?
When I make the decision to stop reading, I almost always finish a chapter as it is, generally, the natural stopping place. If I fall asleep or am otherwise called away, I won’t push the issue. That said, if the author has a bad habit of ending every chapter on a cliff hanger, there is no reason to stop because it does not create a natural ending, only a new beginning and thus it’s better to stop mid way through.

If you come across an unfamiliar word, do you stop to look it up right away?
(reenter: snob hat) Unless I have forgotten to charge my iphone or can’t get service, yes.

What are you currently reading?
I am currently reading: Ulysses, The Shadow of the Wind, Islands in the Stream and Graceling. Do I have all of my bases covered, there?

What is the last book you bought?
I have been very good about patronizing my library lately but I did buy Catching Fire. Couldn’t help it.

Are you the type of person that only reads one book at a time or can you read more than one at a time?
Sometimes one, sometimes many. Right now I’m reading several but it’s because they’re mostly dull and I need to keep distracting myself.

Do you have a favorite time of day and/or place to read?
I have no routine. I read when I read. If I tried to have a structured reading habit, I would never crack a book. I have a one and a half year old and three jobs. I read between the lines.

Do you prefer series books or stand alone books?
I have found affinities for both over time. I grew up on Tolkien and my dad’s trips to the SciFi store in the Garage in Harvard Square. I also grew up on my mom’s love of the stand alone novel in Richard Bach and Herman Hesse.

Is there a specific book or author that you find yourself recommending over and over? There is no one book for every person. I have a handful of books I like to suggest. I think everyone should read ONE Herman Hesse (perhaps not The Glass Bead Game), ONE Pynchon (like V. maybe not Gravity’s Rainbow), ONE Hemingway, some Fitzgerald, some Steinbeck, and always, a little bit of Rilke or Neruda. This, I think, is why I find myself on the fringe of the Book Blogger world. I think I’m way too weird.

How do you organize your books?
I have a fiction shelf and a collection of non-fiction shelves. I have my political books, my poetry books, my birthing books, my parenting books, my dogs books, my baseball books, my war books, my husband’s film books and his one physics book on various other categorized shelves.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 19, 2009 10:12 am

    I think you’re welcome to participate in BBAW! You’re a book blogger! Book bloggers small and large are all welcome!

    I love the snobhat idea. 😀

    Good luck with Ulysses. Any Joyce makes me moan in pain.

  2. September 19, 2009 10:58 am

    I agree (or should I say “wear”?) your first snob hat (hate audio books), but not the second (hate to interrupt my flow of reading to look up a word). No nominations necessary to participate in BBAW. It’s all just for fun. I haven’t done all of your must-reads. Maybe someday, but probably no time soon. (I know just the garage in Harvard square you mean! Moved from Boston last year).

  3. September 19, 2009 11:32 am

    You have a blog, and it’s about books – congratulations, it seems you’ve gained unwitting membership into the community! I didn’t really “get” BBAW last year when it started, but I think I’ve got the knack this year. It’s a time for book bloggers (you, me, all of us!) to appreciate each other and for other fine folks (authors, publicists, etc) to appreciate us by way of guest posts and giveaways and general adulation. LOL!

    I think the reason I didn’t “get” it last year was that it’s one of those things that you kind of get out of it what you put into it, and I didn’t have the time to put in to exploring it last year. Any book blogger can host or enter BBAW themed giveaways, nominate/vote for their favorite blogs for awards, participate in the daily posting theme (and read others’ posts on the subject, so getting to experience yet more great book blogs) and so on and so forth. I set aside way more time to put in this year, and found I had a great time congregating with the book bloggers. Hope you come out to play next year! As far as I know, there are no lofty prerequisites for participation – just a blog about books and a desire to go play with the other book bloggers especially much in one week! 🙂

    P.S. I’m totally with you. A book is not a book unless it’s got ink and pages and I can hold it in my hands!

  4. September 19, 2009 12:41 pm

    This is my first experience with BBAW as well. I didin’t even stop to think about whether I was “allowed” to participate – just jumped right in. But I think the others are right: the only prereq. is being a book blogger.

    I think your list of must-read authors is great. I have not read books by all of them, only Hemingway, Fitzgerald and Steinbeck. But I think I will be adding Pynchon to my Fall reading list. And, I have always meant to get around to reading a Herman Hesse novel, too.

    I don’t think your tastes are weird – your reading tastes seem to be more my style than a lot of book blogs I have encountered (except for Ulysses, perhaps.) Oh and soy mochas are my drink of choice for book browsing!

    Cheers,

    Ali

  5. September 25, 2009 1:51 am

    I neglected BBAW scandalously this year — but the thing you want to do is register. That will get you into the directory that Amy and her helpers manage (at least, it did last year. I’m not sure what’s going on with it this year). Then people who are looking for book bloggers can find you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

