Skip to content

BTT: Recent Enjoyable

September 17, 2009
  • btt2

    What’s the most enjoyable, most fun, most just-darn-entertaining book you’ve read recently?

    (Mind you, this doesn’t necessarily mean funny, since we covered that already. Just … GOOD.)

    I know I’ve used this recently so I ought to find something different but in a pure act of defiance of both convention and diversity, I’m bringing back Inherent Vice. It’s fun. It’s flirty. It’s totally psychedelic. It rings true for Pynchon and is side ticklingly funny. Also, if you liked that, try this! The Great Perhaps! It’s not as page-turningly side-splitting but it does have great allusions and subtle one liners that make one go “hmm”.

  • Advertisements
    9 Comments leave one →
    1. September 17, 2009 4:16 am

      I confess, I haven’t read much Pynchon, and I really need to correct that – both of these sound like great reads, actually.

    2. September 17, 2009 6:32 am

      I just read your review on The great Perhaps. Sounds good. And a good title!

    3. September 17, 2009 10:15 am

      I’m about half way through “Inherent Vice.” I can’t put it down! Definitely a good choice for most enjoyable read. Almost gives me the courage to try and tackle some more Pynchon.

      (Almost. I think I’m a little bit scared of him! Intimidated is probably a better word.)

    4. cjz111 permalink
      September 17, 2009 10:51 am

      I need side spittingly funny. I am going to have to check this one out. I have never read Pynchon but have always been curious.

    5. September 17, 2009 1:06 pm

      I gotta check those out. Always need good books!

      Booking through Most Enjoyable

    6. September 17, 2009 1:22 pm

      I have not heard of Pynchon but a book that is” fun, flirty and totally psychedelic” sounds like a book I should look into.

    7. September 17, 2009 4:20 pm

      I have not read this one, but you make it sound oh so fun!
      Here’s my BTT.

    8. September 17, 2009 6:49 pm

      That’s the first time I have ever heard Pynchon sound ‘lite!’

      • iwriteinbooks permalink*
        September 19, 2009 8:44 am

        I definitely didn’t say it was “lite”. Others may have called it such. The genre that it pokes fun of may be lite but the content is as standard Pynchon and I’ve read everything he’s written. Those who say it’s washed out aren’t paying attention. ;O)

    Leave a Reply

