Skip to content

[BTT] Does Size Matter?

September 3, 2009

btt2
What’s the biggest book you’ve read recently?

(Feel free to think “big” as size, or as popularity, or in any other way you care to interpret.)

Well, let’s see. The biggest in terms of popularity is certainly the much anticipated Catching Fire!

The biggest in terms of thickness will have to stretch back to pre-blog days in Against the Day.

Now, I have to add something. This is very weird. The books are pretty dissimilar. Aside from a small connection of symbolism which fades almost on contact, there is one other thing connecting them together.They are the only two books I’ve ever waited at the door for. Yes, that’s right, folks. I was the very first person to buy Against the Day from my local book store. I didn’t manage to finish Against the Day in a day as I did Catching Fire but I did enjoy it just as much. Am a freak? Oh, I don’t know. I just have very eclectic reading taste.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. September 3, 2009 3:30 am

    I haven’t read both of them but catching fire sounds interesting

  2. September 3, 2009 3:40 am

    I’ve never been able to read Pynchon with any success. So congratulations on that one.
    Warmest
    Rob

    • iwriteinbooks permalink*
      September 3, 2009 3:45 am

      Rob! I think Pynchon is sort of a love’m or hate’m kind of guy. Although his latest fell flat with some of his former lovers. I’ve always liked him but, i think I may also be crazy. :O)

  3. September 3, 2009 3:50 am

    You’ve read Catching fire too? Looks like I’m the only one who hasn’t even read Hunger Games 🙂

    • iwriteinbooks permalink*
      September 3, 2009 3:53 am

      Oh, it’s fabulous. Well, they’re both (HG and CF) wonderful. They’re quick reads but they pack a lot in.

  4. September 3, 2009 5:23 am

    I’m eagerly waiting for Catching Fire to show up in my mailbox! Loved The Hunger Games.

    Against the Day is a book that’s new to me.

    I hope your enjoying Shadow of the wind, I read it earlier this year 🙂

  5. September 3, 2009 8:56 am

    I haven’t read any Pynchon, but chose The Hunger Games as my “big” read. I have Catching Fire waiting for me, but I have other books I need to read first. I need to make sure I have a day free with no interruptions so that I can relax and enjoy it.

    By the way, I love your eclectic reading tastes. I never understand when someone says “I *only* read sci-fi / romance etc. So many wonderful books out there, why limit yourself to just one genre or style?

  6. September 3, 2009 9:04 am

    Impressive! I always feel like I’ve done my duty when reading Pynchon. Nice to hear that someone loves his enough to wait by the door! 🙂

  7. September 3, 2009 9:09 am

    I enjoyed reading your post. I haven’t read either of them but they do sound interesting.

  8. September 3, 2009 9:10 am

    ‘Catching Fire’ is huge in popularity nowadays. I don’t think there is a person who has not heard of it.
    I don’t think though that I’ll be reading Pynchon in any near future.

  9. September 3, 2009 9:36 am

    Catching Fire is quite big at the moment, but I’m not going near it ’til the third of the trilogy is out. Haven’t read Hunger Games as well.

    Have Pynchon’s Gravity’s Rainbow on my TBR as well.

  10. September 3, 2009 10:01 am

    I think it’s GREAT to have varied interests when it comes to reading 🙂 Here’s my BTT.

  11. September 3, 2009 10:13 am

    I’ve noticed a lot of people are reading “Catching Fire”, hmmmm…maybe I should check it out. Happy BTT!
    http://busyisreading.blogspot.com/2009/09/booking-through-thursday.html

  12. September 3, 2009 10:44 am

    Haven’t read either of those. I’ve tried some Pynchon in the past, but never could stick with any of the books. He has a new one out now, doesn’t he?

  13. September 3, 2009 11:45 am

    I’m getting ready to read The Hunger Games so I can read Catching Fire. Have never read Pynchon. I think eclectic reading tastes are a wonderful thing!

  14. September 3, 2009 12:31 pm

    I can read a poetry book with pages 45 and a tome more than 700 pages!

    Booking through Big

  15. September 3, 2009 1:41 pm

    I haven’t read either one yet, but have been hearing much about both. I’m not sure about pynchon but will definitely be getting Collin’s book sometime in the future.

  16. cjz111 permalink
    September 3, 2009 6:13 pm

    Eclectic is best!!! I am so jealous!!! I just found Hunger Games at a second-hand store for $2 so I am super excited. I am saving it for when I have time to just sit and reeeaaaddd!

  17. September 3, 2009 6:45 pm

    I have seen a lot of reviews on Catching Fire and all of them have been good so far. I haven’t heard of the second book.

    Here is mine.

  18. September 4, 2009 7:52 am

    Have you got the new Pynchon book?

    Has anyone read The Blah Story? That is supposed to be the longest book ever. It’s multiple volumes and it consists of mostly this: blah blah she blah blah blah counter blah blah bought blah blah and blah blah.

Leave a Reply

