Skip to content

Easy Like Sunday Morning

August 30, 2009

The Sunday Salon.com

Good morning, everyone. I am having the sort of Sunday that will make Monday that dreaded worst day of the week. It’s romantically overcast and wonderfully cool. It is clearly the last week of August, quickly ushering in my beloved fall. But enough. On to books. I ran a little unannounced challenge for myself this week. I tried to read a book a day. It didn’t quite work but I did knock off quite a few of my library books.

My stack is down the following:

Devilish

Inherent Vice

An Abundance of Katherines

If I Stay

Aside from Pynchon, it was all YA. I am generally not a big fan of YA but I think I have managed to navigate my way around, picking the good from the bad. If you go ahead and drop the vampires and vapid silliness it is safe to say that there are some well written, teen centered books to choose from.

Speaking of which, before I go any further, I need to have a moment. Catching Fire, the sequel to The Hunger Games, is coming out Tuesday! Oh, yes. I will be waiting in line outside the store. Get excited.

I read a few great children’s books this week and while I debated reviewing them, I decided I wouldn’t go there with this space. I think that, the future, I may attempt to create a blog that is a spin off of this one, dedicated to picture books. For the moment, I won’t clutter up this space unless it’s urgent (see Puff the Magic Dragon).

At the moment, I have a fairly sizable stack of books to read but, to be quite honest, none of it really excites me. In a way, they are the books I’ve waited too long to read and are so covered in their own dust that they no longer seem attractive. I think, though, that once I get into them, past the pile, I will enjoy them. I am about 30 pages into Shadow of the Wind and not loving it as much as I thought. The reviews said (I know. They lie in their subjectivity.) that it was similar to Eco. Not so much, really, at least not yet. As far as the rest are concerned, if you would like to lobby for one over the other, here is the rest of the list arranged in a lovely autumn setting:

photo

In related, albeit slightly off topic, news, I asked my blogience to pick which musician they would commission to write a novel. Given some time to think about this, I would have to say that Dave Matthews or Jimi Hendrix. I know that the music probably has some subliminal effect on my end decision even though I asked everyone to pick a writer outside of his or her guitar. I still think that they are/were the best wordsmiths in the tune world.

That is about all. I will, on Wednesday, be posting a Q&A with Cathy Marie Buchanan, author of The Day the Falls Stood Still. I’m really excited about this as it’s my very first blog tour. Stay tuned!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 30, 2009 1:21 pm

    4 books in a week is fantastic! I think I’m the last person in the whole wide world who hasn’t read The Hunger Games – even my husband’s read it.

  2. August 30, 2009 1:32 pm

    I read The Hunger Games only a couple of weeks ago and immediately pre-ordered Catching Fire; Amazon had some kind of confusion about the release date and sent me it this week! I am reading it now and loving it, which begs the question, what am I doing online?!

    I also enjoyed If I Stay and spy On Beauty in your stack, which I really liked.

  3. August 30, 2009 1:45 pm

    I can’t wait for Catching Fire!

  4. August 30, 2009 6:14 pm

    Thanks for stopping by. I usually read 3 books a week and just wanted to see if I could do it. It was fun and it helped me decrease the number of books I have checked out from the library.

    Have a good week!

  5. August 30, 2009 6:46 pm

    How about a guest post on our blog with children’s book reviews? Since we moved further from the library, I’m not getting new books as often anymore, and would be happy to add some variety to our posts. Email me if you’re interested.

  6. August 31, 2009 12:08 am

    I can’t seem to manage even one book a week at the moment (I’m at a book a fortnight as of August. Ouch) so I admire you for even going for a book a day.

Leave a Reply

