Skip to content

BTT: The Chosen Few

August 20, 2009

btt2

What’s the best book you’ve read recently?

(Tell me you didn’t see this one coming?)

Looking back at my blog archives, I think I’ve only fallen in love or lust with a few books since the of beginning this (blog), which is my definition of “recently”. It seems like I have fond feelings for more but when confronted with the question, I think it comes down to four:

The Day the Falls Stood Still

The Hunger Games

South of Broad

The Elegance of the Hedgehog

I am currently reading Thomas Pynchon’s Inherent Vice which will, no doubt, blow the other four out of the water, but alas, the question is being asked, today. What is the best book you’ve read, recently?

23 Comments leave one →
  1. August 20, 2009 4:07 am

    I can choose one which is really the recent best book 🙂

    If the question is the best all time book, the answer might be different.

    I haven’t read any of your choice tho, I’ll check it out one day 🙂

    • iwriteinbooks permalink*
      August 20, 2009 4:55 am

      DON’T get me started on my favorites of all time. We may be here all day. It’s not that I’m not discerning; I just have a tendency to pick books I know I’ll like which makes it hard to pick and choose!

  2. August 20, 2009 5:55 am

    I wish to read that Hedgehog book!

    Booking through recent best

  3. August 20, 2009 7:59 am

    I have three of those four on my TBR list …

  4. August 20, 2009 8:41 am

    I’ve been wanting to take a look at South of Broad. It’s gotten very mixed reviews, but it sounds like a great read.

    • iwriteinbooks permalink*
      August 20, 2009 8:50 am

      Has it? I haven’t looked. I can see that. I think I tend to like books that aren’t total crowd pleasers.

      • Amanda permalink
        August 20, 2009 9:25 am

        A reviewer said South of Broad was basically just a rewrite of Prince of Tides. You read both. What did you think?

      • iwriteinbooks permalink*
        August 20, 2009 9:40 am

        Amanda, (it won’t let me respond to you…weird)
        I actually haven’t gotten to POT. It was on my beach list but I have too many other things to read right now. I think it may have some similar themes. I’m not sure. All I can say is that I liked SOB. 🙂

  5. August 20, 2009 8:48 am

    South of Broad and ‘Hedgehog’ are both on my tbr list.

  6. August 20, 2009 8:59 am

    I haven’t read any of those, but they look like good ones.

  7. August 20, 2009 9:01 am

    Great response. I’m looking forward to your review of Pynchon!

  8. August 20, 2009 9:22 am

    Well, as you know, my best “recent” read – very recent, as in the last book I read, was The Hunger Games. I’ve been lucky though and have read some really great books this year including The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

  9. August 20, 2009 10:25 am

    The Hunger Games and The Elegance of the Hedgehog have really been making the rounds with book bloggers lately. I need to see if I can get them from my library.

    It was hard for me to pick just one, so I did a top five 🙂 Here’s my BTT.

  10. reviewsonbooks permalink
    August 20, 2009 11:19 am

    Wow, now I’ve got to read your current read if it’s going to blow all those other ones out of the water!
    happy Thursday 🙂

  11. August 20, 2009 1:05 pm

    I’ve got South of Broad on my TBR pile (a couple of the others are on my wish list!). Now I’m looking forward to it even more than I was! 🙂

  12. August 20, 2009 1:38 pm

    I have three of these to read, so I’m glad to see you really loved those. I’m going to have to see about The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

  13. August 20, 2009 5:34 pm

    I have Hunger Games on my wish list. I’ve never heard of the Elegance of the Hedge Hog, but it sounds intriguing. Adding it to my wish list. However, I have been hearing a lot about Pynchon lately and going to have to check him out. My post is up now.

  14. August 20, 2009 5:41 pm

    Out of your list, The Hunger Games would be my hands-down favorite. I really enjoyed South of Broad too, so I can see it being a tough choice.

  15. novelinsights permalink
    August 20, 2009 5:53 pm

    I haven’t heard of any of these! Thanks for highlighting them as enjoyable reads. I think this is a great btt for inspiring people to read new books 🙂

  16. August 20, 2009 5:54 pm

    The Hunger Games is on my list today too. I have The Day The Falls Stood Still on hold. Will check out your others ones.

  17. cjz111 permalink
    August 20, 2009 6:02 pm

    Pynchon’s is on my list. I cannot wait to see what you think. I think I may have to start bugging my second hand bookstore to make sure I am on the list for The Hunger Games. Great picks. My pick was super easy this time.
    http://booktumbling.wordpress.com/2009/08/20/booking-through-thursday-2/

  18. August 21, 2009 4:07 am

    I have The Hunger Games on my list at the moment – should really get down to reading it.

  19. August 21, 2009 7:46 pm

    My friend just recommended The Elegance of the Hedgehog to me–in fact, she brought me her copy! So I should put it up on my TBR!

    Thomas Pynchon is difficult author to me.

Leave a Reply

