Skip to content

[TSS] South Eastern Beach& tour

August 2, 2009

The Sunday Salon.com

I have had a fantastic week in terms of living but a pretty mediocre week pertaining to books. I have very mixed feelings about The Help which was a fine read for subject but debatable on approach. I have started three books (The hunger Games, Prep and The Fixer Upper) in my vacation pile but I am learning the hard way that ‘easy’ reading is not always  easier to read when the reader is used to heavier things.

While not a fantastic book week this has been a great writer appreciation week. Steve Reifenberg’s guest post is well worth checking out and I posted an ity bity tribute to Papa Hemingway, a man and life I can’t do justice in 600 words or, perhaps, ever.Summer 2009 319

(There are few places I can be found playing the part of shameless tourist. This would be me, caught in the very act, wearing a Sloppy Joe’s t-shirt inside if Hemingway’s writing studio. Listen, I am allowed once in my life…)

I have managed to pick up only one new book to add to by colossal book stack. Hemingway’s Island in the Stream. Needless to say, it’s fantastic but I do promise to get back to my other reading when I start the South Carolina portion of my R&R.

Shop Indie Bookstores

I did visit an unbelievable book store in Coral Gables. Books & Books is pretty much my exact dream of a book store.  I mean, they have a bar out front, coffee in the back and as the name implies, books. And books. If you are in south Florida, do stop by.

So, that is where I leave you, my fabulous readers. I hope your summer reading is going well and that you are enjoying the fading light of a fabulous summer.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 2, 2009 6:59 am

    I am not a big Hemingway fan at all, but I recently read The Snows of Kilimanjaro and really loved what he was able to do with it. I just really disliked The Sun Also Rises when I read it years back. I am a little curious as the whether I would like it if I read it again but at the same time afraid to try again and find out.

  2. August 2, 2009 8:46 am

    I loved The Hunger Games. Happy reading and enjoy your week!

  3. August 2, 2009 7:18 pm

    Thanks for the link to Books & Books. I love finding out about independent bookstores that are thriving. Your review of “The Help” is thought provoking. I have heard positive and negative things about it and am trying to keep an open mind. I’ve got it on hold at the library, I’m something like the 354th person in line!

  4. iwriteinbooks permalink*
    August 2, 2009 8:21 pm

    Gavin thanks for the comment about my Help review. I need to write a post about why I don’t rate books. I think that The Help is why. I really hated parts but really loved parts. No one needs to see it the way I do and I hate that people would or rather would NOT read a book based in a review I wrote. I like to write about the things I was thinking during my reading over a read-this or don’t-read this blurb let me know when you’ve read it!!!

Leave a Reply

