Skip to content

You can take the girl out of the book pile but you can’t take the bookpile out of the girl

July 28, 2009

I just wanted to share my beach reading material with you. I leave tomorrow so this is the final cut:

photo(6)photo(7)So that’s:

The Help by Kathryn Stockett

The Prince of Tides by Pat Conroy

The Fixer Upper by Mary Anne Evans

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

On Beauty by Zadie Smith

The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon

Prep by Curtis Sittenfeld

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Amanda permalink
    July 28, 2009 1:51 pm

    You’re bringing seven books with you? So one a day or something? You’re crazy, you know that?

  2. iwriteinbooks permalink*
    July 28, 2009 1:55 pm

    Haha, in my defense, I’m going away for TEN days and I’m already halfway through The Help. Hunger Games and Prep aren’t heavy reads so with endless beach time, they should be read in the same day. We’ll see!

  3. July 28, 2009 3:45 pm

    I love reading on holiday, which sounds daft because doesn’t that defeat the purpose of going on a holiday? and I say: yes, probably but the experience of sitting in the sun, under shade, glass of iced-tea, reading a novel is heightened, almost surreal-like feeling. I always feel as if I’m floating in a glass-tank, bobbing along water. It is a curious feeling, I suppose it’s a feeling of not truly being there, wherever there maybe.

  4. stacybuckeye permalink
    July 28, 2009 5:00 pm

    Wow! That is an impressive vacation stack. Have a great time.

  5. July 28, 2009 8:01 pm

    I think you’re in for a literary treat! Having read The Shadow of the Wind just makes me itchy for his new book, The Angel’s Game, which is on my new list! I am also keeping my eye on the trade paperback of The Help.

  6. July 28, 2009 10:31 pm

    I love vacations … I get so much reading done then. Seems like you have some good choices. I read “Prince of Tides” ages ago but really liked it. And I’ve heard nothing but good things about Hunger Games and The Help. And the others I’m not too familiar with. Have a great time!

  7. July 29, 2009 12:33 am

    MKA is always fun, though didn’t love her last one. Will definitely have to check out Fixer Upper. Really enjoyed Hunger Games and Prep, so hope you enjoy as well. We’re reading American Wife by Sittenfeld for my book club this month.

    In defense of 7 books, I think I took @ least 10 on my honeymoon with me last year — through customs and all to Mexico! 🙂 I need a variety because I never know what I’ll be in the mood for.

    Have a great vacation!

  8. July 30, 2009 10:28 am

    I can’t wait to hear what you think of On Beauty. I need to read it at some point. I’ve heard many good things. I also really want to know more about Prince of Tides. I recognize the title (wasn’t it made into a movie?), but that’s about it.

    Right now on my shelf, the Clan of the Cave Bear, Coraline, Good Omens, & Eat, Pray, Love.

  9. Amanda permalink
    July 30, 2009 11:33 am

    Are you checking your bag? Because I would never be able to carry that many hardcovers with me, I bring too much other stuff! I’m always like 2 lbs under the weight limit and sometimes over! I can’t imagine what bringing that many hardcovers would do to it!

Leave a comment