Skip to content

BTT: Which do you prefer?

July 23, 2009

btt2

Which do you prefer? (Quick answers–we’ll do more detail at some later date)

As usual, I ran my mouth. Apologies…

  • Reading something frivolous? Or something serious? Oh, always something serious. Not unfunny but if I have a preference, thicker rather than thinner.
  • Paperbacks? Or hardcovers? I used to say, snap-response, paperback because I abuse my books and lug them around but lately, I think it’s my old age, I’ve come into this affinity for a nice hard cover.
  • Fiction? Or Nonfiction? Fiction, primarily but I like historical or philosophical fiction with a bit of truth to it.
  • Poetry? Or Prose? If the latter is good enough, it will make up for the lack of the former.
  • Biographies? Or Autobiographies? Biographies. That is a “no thank you” on the memoir.
  • History? Or Historical Fiction? It depends on the subject and the writing style. If it’s entertaining history, I’ll take it straight. If it’s a dull subject, I will need a bit of imagination to spice things up. I will take either or on pirates.
  • Series? Or Stand-alones? I have never been a fan of the series. It seems too prying to commit to something for several books. I want to disengage from a story after several hundred pages.
  • Classics? Or best-sellers? This is a funny one since most classics were best sellers. Regardless of time period, I prefer metaphor and philosophy rather than straight story.
  • Lurid, fruity prose? Or straight-forward, basic prose? Fruity? Is that a Wilde jab? Let’s just say I’m a modern art girl; I don’t go in for still life.
  • Plots? Or Stream-of-Consciousness? See previous question. Thomas Pynchon, I love you.
  • Long books? Or Short? I have no preference, here. It’s what is inside that counts.
  • Illustrated? Or Non-illustrated? Metaphoric or literal?
  • Borrowed? Or Owned? Oh, owned. I’m not a shoe gal, but I do like a full bookshelf.
  • New? Or Used? I don’t think it matters, as long as it’s still readable. I love it when friends pass on well worn copies of their favorite, written in, dog-eared copies.

(Yes, I know, some of these we’ve touched on before, and some of these we might address in-depth in the future, but for today–just quick answers!)

12 Comments leave one →
  1. July 23, 2009 4:45 am

    Hoorah someone else who didn’t say ‘I like them all’ or one word answers! I thought I was the only one! Great answers like the detail as learn more about your reading habits!

  2. July 23, 2009 4:54 am

    I loved your answers. I wish I had elaborated a bit more on mine. I think this has been a great BTT for getting to know other book bloggers a little better.

    I like your comparision with the owning books question too. I don’t understand needing a wardrobe full of shoes but I can’t understand people who have empty bookshelves! 🙂

  3. July 23, 2009 5:02 am

    This week’s question is sure a hard one considering it’s so short! 😛

  4. July 23, 2009 5:08 am

    I love your answers! I’m like you, I do love hardbacks to look at and I get very excited if someone buys me a lovely hardback as a gift but then I get really annoyed if I have to lug it round in my bag!

  5. iwriteinbooks permalink*
    July 23, 2009 5:09 am

    Haha, Melody, I think I failed the “short” part. although, I’ve noticed a few others taking liberties so I’m glad I went off topic a little bit.

  6. July 23, 2009 5:38 am

    I did it short!

    😀

    Booking through preferences

  7. July 23, 2009 7:37 am

    Your answers pretty much match up with what mine would have been. Except I seem to be the reigning queen of memoirs!

  8. July 23, 2009 8:44 am

    Great answers! I tried to keep them very short, but could elaborated on each one.

  9. July 23, 2009 10:31 am

    We differ with memoirs and series. I like to follow my favorite characters.

  10. July 23, 2009 12:31 pm

    Paperbacks have made my life easier with moving around a lot. I like my series, especially when the books within can be enjoyed as stand-alones.

  11. July 23, 2009 12:34 pm

    I love getting used books and a stranger’s favorite passages are marked. It kind of feels like you know a little about that person.

  12. July 23, 2009 2:59 pm

    Great answers! The name of my blog is “Well-Mannered Frivolity” – can you guess what my answer to number 1 was? It was hard to choose between some of the answers this week though…

Leave a Reply

