Skip to content

Teaser Tuesday: South of Broad by Pat Conroy

July 21, 2009

teaser-tuesday

  • Grab your current read.
  • Let the book fall open to a random page.
  • Share with us two (2) “teaser” sentences from that page, somewhere between lines 7 and 12.
  • You also need to share the title of the book that you’re getting your “teaser” from … that way people can have some great book recommendations if they like the teaser you’ve given!
  • Please avoid spoilers!

“Tonight, Sheba Poe,” Ike says, “you’re coming clean. You’re going to lay it all out for us. I don’t mind dying for you. I really don’t. But I’d sure as hell like to know why.” South of Broad by Pat Conroy p. 280


16 Comments leave one →
  1. July 21, 2009 4:09 am

    Great teaser!

  2. July 21, 2009 4:09 am

    Intriguing teaser! I remember having my interest piqued by the synopsis of this one. I’ll have to make a note to look into it further. Here’s my teaser

  3. July 21, 2009 7:53 am

    Definitely an interested teaser. I have been meaning to read Pat Conroy for a while now. Thanks for the reminder.

    Mine is here!

  4. July 21, 2009 8:17 am

    I am yet to read Conroy!

    Tuesdays: Teaser/Whereabouts

  5. iwriteinbooks permalink*
    July 21, 2009 8:30 am

    Jacqueline, It’s an incredible read. I’m not sure either the teaser or the synopsis do it justice! It will probably be a contentiously reviewed book though as there are strong themes and ideas in it. I am adoring it, though!

    Marg and Gautami, this is my first Conroy but if this is indicative of his normal fare, I am in for the long haul. I’ve very excited that I’ve found this new amazing writer. I’m a little bit wary though because on first review it appears that this is a bit of a departure from his usual stuff. I’m not sure if that’s true or not but we’ll see. I can’t wait until this comes out. I have a feeling it’s going to be a bit of a hot button.

  6. July 21, 2009 9:39 am

    Wow, what a great teaser!
    My teaser this week is from Commencement.

  7. July 21, 2009 12:15 pm

    Great teaser! I might have to add this one to my ever-growing reading list. 😉

  8. July 21, 2009 1:09 pm

    Great teaser!

    Happy reading!

  9. iwriteinbooks permalink*
    July 21, 2009 1:36 pm

    Thanks Tam! Commencement is definitely on my TBR list.
    Sara, really, you must read it.
    Thanks, Leya, it’s was hard to pick one teaser. It’s an incredibly quotable text.

  10. July 21, 2009 2:33 pm

    whoo, gotta find out what this is about 🙂

  11. July 21, 2009 5:54 pm

    Definitely intriguing! 🙂

  12. July 21, 2009 6:04 pm

    I can’t wait to read this book!

  13. July 21, 2009 8:42 pm

    WOW, great teaser!

  14. July 21, 2009 9:12 pm

    Interesting. Would love to know more!
    http://www.booknerdextraordinaire.blogspot.com

  15. July 22, 2009 2:29 am

    Great teaser, this sounds very intriguing!

  16. July 22, 2009 2:57 am

    It has been a while since I’ve read Pat Conroy’s books.

    I don’t mind dying for you. I really don’t. But I’d sure as hell like to know why.” ~~ will make a great dramatic quote.

Leave a Reply

