Skip to content

Booking Through Thursday: Still Life of Unread Books

July 16, 2009

btt2

Follow-up to last week’s question:

Do you keep all your unread books together, like books in a waiting room? Or are they scattered throughout your shelves, mingling like party-goers waiting for the host to come along?

For the most part, my unread books sit on the sidelines, watching the game, sitting in a neat pile next to the shelf. A select few are chosen to run around creation in my bag as their time in the bullpen arrives but a majority stand out in the cold. This is especially true presently as we are in the terribly awkward stage between book shelves, where the space we have is full to capacity but ten books on a shelf would look absurd so we refrain from stacking another one just yet.

Oh, but there are those tricky little, social climbing, tenure-faking unread books. Oh, yes, Infinite Jest and Against the Day, I’m looking at you. Don’t sit there, pretending to be read when you know there is no snowball’s chance in hell that I have had enough time in this life to get to you!

I am totally unorganized in many aspect of my life but, my books are usually in some sort of order and save those pesky gigantic things that are better served on my shelf than breaking my back (or my poor little side table where my TBR has currently taken up residence) my read books are their own small clique in the corner, separated from the more experienced players.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Amanda permalink
    July 16, 2009 9:10 am

    I don’t really buy books anymore, so if I get a book out from the library, I’m going to read it right away (I only have about three weeks with it anyway). There are some books on the shelves that I haven’t read because they were Dan’s but I might get around to them someday.

  2. July 16, 2009 11:37 am

    I went on a crazy organizing tangent 3 months back and organized my books like I worked for B&N. I have Fiction read, Fiction un-read, Non Fiction read and un-read and a reference section. I also have a pet section and a new age section. My un-read sections combined take up about 3/4th of the bookcase.

  3. July 16, 2009 1:16 pm

    I stack books as and how I want to. Just about anywhere!

    TBR: mixed reactions?

  4. July 16, 2009 4:27 pm

    I enjoyed reading your answer today!

  5. July 17, 2009 4:30 pm

    Of course you would use sports analogies to talk about your books! You’re very cute.

    I’m not sure the answer to this question, but I’ll let you know once I move and actually have proper shelves. 😛

  6. iwriteinbooks permalink*
    July 17, 2009 4:58 pm

    It’s all, Sara, it’s all I know. Oh, I’m working on a response to your Hemingway question. I think I may make it my post, tomorrow. Will keep you posted.

  7. Amanda permalink
    July 17, 2009 9:28 pm

    Oh, I should add that all our books are on the bookcase in alphabetical order by author’s last name. I wanted to do by book name to make it easier to find stuff, but Dan won out.

  8. July 23, 2009 9:43 pm

    I just realized I’m much the same. Most of my unread books have formed little clumps of their own all over the house, but they rarely mingle with the books I’ve read. I wonder why?

Leave a Reply

