Skip to content

Sunday Salon

July 5, 2009

The Sunday Salon.com

This is my very first attempt at a Sunday Salon post so it might be a little choppy around the edges. It was a good reading week, though so it may prove to be smoother sailing than I think. We’ll see.

My reading was all over the place, this week. I read my second Southern Reading challenge book, read (and enjoyed!) a Young Adult novel (who me?) and I wrote my first negative review (a post modern book set in MA that didn’t satisfy me??) along with starting an intensely creepy albeit fantastic thriller (holy departure, Batman).

An Arsonist’s Guide to Writers’ Homes in New England

Someday This Pain Will Be Useful to You

The Girl Who Stopped Swimming

I am nearing the end of Dismantled and I am entirely too excited about reviewing and recommending this book. Also up to bat, this week, I have The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo (of which I have read about 43 pages and can’t wait to get back to) and I should be getting the upcoming sequel, soon. I think I may check out The Fixer Upper or Mudbound for my third Southern pick. If you have thoughts on that decision, let me know.

I don’t know if it’s the summer air but I’ve noticed a change in my reading taste, lately. I have found myself not only picking but enjoying murder mysteries. Admittedly, I am picking darker, philosophical mysteries over the more standard choices so I probably have a better chance of enjoying what I think is a departure from my regular reading. It might just be that I’m reading the same old choices disguised as spooky stories. It makes me feel like I am branching out, though, so I’m just going to go with it.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 5, 2009 6:23 pm

    It’s always hard to write a negative review no matter if it is the first time or the fifth time. Especially if you really wanted to like the book and it just failed to deliver.

  2. July 5, 2009 6:49 pm

    Welcome to Sunday Salon! Great post and great reviews. Like you, I find myself reading mysteries. I think it’s because I read many intense book during the late winter and spring. Besides, it’s summer and it’s hot! Have a good week.

  3. July 5, 2009 8:54 pm

    Glad to see you here at Sunday Salon! I always make a point to write a TSS even if I don’t blog any other time during the week.

  4. July 5, 2009 11:44 pm

    Actually summer has somewhat changed my reading taste too. I’ve been looking for a lot of historical fancy stuff. Odd isn’t it? I’m usually all about fantasy and sci fi.

Leave a Reply

