Skip to content

Coastal Classics (or Why No One Loves Atlanta in August)

July 3, 2009

beachreadsI adore my adoptive city, perhaps, too much. Its warmth, literal and figurative, welcomes passersby, offering an open-faced, sunny-side up approach to modern life. The heart of the southland, the very womb and cradle of the civil rights movement, the perfect mix of things remembered and things to come. Oh, dear sweet city, how I love you so!

Ahem.

This is all well and good but come the middle of July, Peachtree Road Race and ensuing festivities long forgotten in the stifling heat, the crowds start to turn on their beloved Peach.

“That’s it!” they cry as they sprint for the shore.

“I have had it!” they yell, fleeing for the mountains.

August in Atlanta is no Paris in the springtime.

Following my beloved neighbors, I will be heading to the coast come the worst heat.

Now comes the hard part. For eleven full days, I will be somewhere on some island, either in the Keys or the Carolinas and will be avoiding technology at all cost save a small visit to Miami. Thinking about this on my rather soggy walk home from lunch, I started to panic a little bit. What about the blog?

Please, do not spill your sweet tea in distress, folks, we have things managed: I am leaving a little bit of the beach behind when I go.

In the month leading up to my departure, I will be rereading my favorite sea-side stories including Hemingway’s Garden of Eden and John Banville’s The Sea. I will be archiving my rereads and thoughts related, setting them to post one a day in my absence.

This is where you come in.

I need your classics. No, not flip-flop fiction or beach blanket books. I mean, the old, musty, dusty stories of fishermen and pirates. That is your mission. Now, go. Suggest away.

1.    Garden of Eden – Ernest Hemingway
2.    The Sea – John Banville
3.     your suggestion, here
4.
5.
6.
7.
8.
9.
10.
11.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 3, 2009 8:40 pm

    Um… hello??? East of Eden 😀

  2. iwriteinbooks permalink*
    July 3, 2009 8:43 pm

    Oh dear, some beautiful day, I’ll sit down and write a love letter that East of Eden deserves. It may be my life’s work but hopefully I’ll get it done. Maybe that’s what I’ll work on during my vacation. I was thinking about dedicating my vaca to Hem since I’ll be in Key West but maybe I’ll just read and write about E’oE….ah, Johnny.

  3. July 3, 2009 11:24 pm

    I read Robinson Crusoe last summer and thought it was interesting… not particularly my cup of tea, but if I ever get stranded on an island, I’d like to have it with me.

  4. July 7, 2009 11:54 am

    The Garden of Eden was the first Hemingway I ever read. I fell in love. I need to re-read it, though because I’m sure as a fifteen-year-old, I didn’t quite understand all of its subtleties and intricacies.

    I try to reconcile my hatred for Hemingway’s unabashed misogyny and my love of his writing and can’t. But I suppose even the most genius of us has their downfalls? As a feminist, how do you justify your love of Hemingway? (Or do you?)

  5. July 10, 2009 11:19 am

    I didn’t realize you’re in Atlanta – I’m only a couple hours away!

Leave a Reply

