Skip to content

Booking Through Thursday: Sci-fi/fantasy

June 18, 2009

btt2

One of my favorite sci-fi authors (Sharon Lee) has declared June 23rd Fantasy and Science Fiction Writers Day. As she puts it:

So! In my Official Capacity as a writer of science fiction and fantasy, I hereby proclaim June 23 Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers Day! A day of celebration and wonder! A day for all of us readers of science fiction and fantasy to reach out and say thank you to our favorite writers. A day, perhaps, to blog about our favorite sf/f writers. A day to reflect upon how written science fiction and fantasy has changed your life.

So … what might you do on the 23rd to celebrate? Do you even read fantasy/sci-fi? Why? Why not? Don’t forget to leave a link to your actual response (so people don’t have to go searching for it) in the comments—or if you prefer, leave your answers in the comments themselves!

My sister was named for Roger Zelazny’s Amber Chronicles. My father has a Starfleet Academy decal on the back window of his car. My parents once went to a Halloween party dressed as a 1 and a 0. They were bytes. By all measure of anything, I should be a fantasy/sci-fi fanatic.

I am not.

If you don’t ask me too many times, I will tell you that I read across genres, that I don’t discriminate. But maybe on that third try, you will force me to admit that I am not as well versed across literary category lines as I like to pretend. Oh, I’ve read the requisite J. R. Tolkien; I’ve read Hitchhiker and Harry Potter. I adored things like Narnia and A Wrinkle In Time, growing up. But if you dig too deep, you’ll find that I have little to no interest in what the rest of the world refers to as fantasy/sci-fi.

As far as the 23rd is concern, I think I will take the time to finally read The Amber Chronicles since the rest of my family can talk about them in detail and I am left in the dark. Oryx and Crake has also been on my list for too long, as well, so that may have to be worked in. I do love a good excuse!


7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 18, 2009 4:30 pm

    I have read the Harry Potter series and many of the newer fantasy series but still am not knowledgable about the fantasy genre in general.

  2. iwriteinbooks permalink*
    June 18, 2009 4:39 pm

    It’s funny because I generally don’t have fantasy on my TBR list but I know a good deal, conceptually, about the genre because of my family and friends who are all pretty well versed in it. I like to stick to what I refer to as poli-scifi or weird, dystopian political novels. Sometimes these count as fantasy or sci fi but most often, they don’t.

  3. uncertainprinciples permalink
    June 18, 2009 10:17 pm

    I want to read Oryx and Crake as well – sounds interesting. Ironically enough, I really enjoy fantasy, but just don’t know enough people ’round me who do, to recommend good books to me! I normally depend on Amazon, which sometimes does get it wrong!

  4. June 19, 2009 10:51 am

    I’ve never heard of the Amber Chronicles, but that sounds like a great place for you to start given your family history! I’ve read the obligatory few fantasy novels as well, but would like to explore the genre a little further.

  5. June 19, 2009 1:41 pm

    We often end up with opposite interests to our parents, I find.

  6. Jen permalink
    June 20, 2009 8:25 pm

    I highly recommend Philip Pullman’s His Dark Materials Trilogy: The Golden Compass, The Subtle Knife, and The Amber Spyglass. They mix fantasy, religion, morality….absolutely incredible. The Amber Spyglass is one of my favorite books of all time

  7. iwriteinbooks permalink*
    June 20, 2009 10:36 pm

    Jen, I actually have the set on my shelf; I just need to dig in! Thanks for the reminder. Maybe that’s what I’ll read…

    I agree, Anthony.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

