Skip to content

BTT: Lovely Lones

January 31, 2013

btt button

Do you lend your books? Are any out on loan right now? Do you have any that have been loaned to you? Do you put a time limit on these? Do you think people should make an effort to read the loaned book quickly?

Inter-Library Loan Service

My books have been returned within a day, sometimes, more often several weeks and on the frustrating minority, never. I hate when that happens but I can usually track them down. I’ve gotten much more stringent about who I lend what to. If it’s a toss away book, I’ll give it to a total random but if it’s a precious one, I’ll only lend to trusted borrowers. If I really need someone to read a book but I love my own copy, I’ll usually buy said reader copy¬†of his or her own.

I know I seem a little snobby but it also means that I have lent and do lend a lot and I’ve learned (sort of) over time to have my own rules.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2013 8:59 am

    I don’t loan them out unless I’m not all that attached. If it is a signed copy, or one I’ve had for years, nobody touches it! Ha!

  2. January 31, 2013 9:32 am

    I do loan out books that I have already read. However, I draw the line with books I haven’t read yet.

  3. January 31, 2013 10:17 am

    It is important for me to only lend occasionally and to those who will return the books…and only those books I’ve already read.

    Here’s MY BTT POST

  4. January 31, 2013 11:30 am

    I’d hate having to track down books I loan out. Here’s my full BTT Post On Lending Books

  5. January 31, 2013 1:43 pm

    It’s good to have rules about lending books.

    http://tributebooksmama.blogspot.com/2013/01/booking-through-thursday_31.html

  6. zibilee permalink
    January 31, 2013 1:48 pm

    I give books away with great gusto, but if it’s something I love, I only give it to someone who I know will treat it well, and return it. I have lost too many books by ending them to unscrupulous borrowers!

  7. January 31, 2013 11:14 pm

    Not selfish at all! I love books and those that I have right now are all my favorites and I have gotten rid of those that I did not like. So yeah, I am particular on who borrows them and when they return them.

    Here’s my Booking Through Thursday post

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

