Skip to content

BTT: Read, Reflect, Repeat.

December 13, 2012

btt button

So … you’ve just finished reading a book. For the sake of the discussion, we’ll say it was everything a book should be—engaging, entertaining, interesting, thought-provoking. The kind you want to gush over. The question is—do you immediately move on to your next book? Or do you take time to contemplate this writerly masterpiece and all its associated thoughts/emotions/ideas for a while first?

I’m acutally about to finish a book that I’d put in this category. I am currently loving and living the wonderful Marriage Plot by the one and only Jeffrey Eugenides. Short of running headlong into a gushing review of the book, I’ll just say that it’s pretty darn awesome and has its fair share of Derrida as well as drama. I usually reflect while I’m reading the book so I don’t need reflection time, post read. I do, however, usually try to switch genres or at least authors so I can cleanse my pallet. You know, a good paranormal teen romance after a heavy hitter, usually works like a charm. 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 13, 2012 11:23 am

    I like to post my thoughts and move right on to the next book.

  2. December 13, 2012 12:03 pm

    I like to mix up my reads,too; I like the “cleansing the palate” image. Thanks for sharing…and here’s MY THURSDAY MEMES POST

  3. December 13, 2012 3:15 pm

    Good answer, contemplating while into the book.

    http://tributebooksmama.blogspot.com/2012/12/booking-through-thursday_13.html

  4. December 14, 2012 12:43 am

    Terrific answer. If a book resonates with me, I’ll keep thinking about it, but I still move on to the next one.
    2 Kids and Tired Books BTT

  5. Veens permalink
    December 14, 2012 2:56 am

    I like to jot down my thoughts… take a break and then move on. Sometimes, I go right back and reread a favorite portion :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

