Skip to content

The Raven Boys – Maggie Stiefvater

December 10, 2012

Genre: Young Adult Fiction
Publisher: Scholastic Press
416 pages
ISBN: 9780545424929
Source: Book store

I usually don’t go in for the magical or paranormal.

There  are a few exceptions, of course, as there are with all things.

From Rilke reading werewolves to equine Celtic water spirits Maggie has me wrapped around her otherworldly little finger.

Until now.

Now, I am completely, head over heels in love with the woman and I can not tell you otherwise.

Here, this is her latest story.

A group of loosely and tightly related women reside in a picturesque Virginia town. Most of the town is sleepy and a bit under the radar, including the cluster of women, as they all exist in the radiant and ridiculously rich shadow of the nearby private boys’ school, Aglionby.

The minor detail that marks the family of females as slightly unique? They happen to be psychics. Like real, no joke, psychics.

Well, that is, they’re all psychics aside from their youngest member, our lovely protagonist, Blue. Her only gift is enhancing or strengthening the signals others pick up on. A spiritual “assist” for you sports fans out there. It’s for this non-skill that she is dragged along to the cemetery in St. Mark’s Eve, a time when those who will die in the next year, parade by in spirit form.

Until the night in question, Blue has never been able to see a spirit. She has a brief verbal and  visual run in with a boy her age, named Gansey but is more excited about the actual occurrence than anything about the boy. I can’t blame her, though, as she holds all boys at arm’s length. See, her quite accurate housemates have predicted for nearly her whole life, that she’ll kill her true love with a kiss. I’d be running the other direction, too!

Of course, it turns out the their paths were meant to cross and it looks, more by every page turned, as if this is headed for some serious drama.

I honest to goodness, promise you that I could not put this book down. It’s a little glum in parts as all of Maggie’s books have a misty, British Isles in Fall feel to them but that doesn’t mean that the sexual tension, dramatic flair or perfect prose dim at all in the early morning rain.

Even if you’ve tried other Maggie books, before, and found them falling short of your favorites, I beg you to try The Raven Boys and see for yourself the magical, mystical Maggie that is.

Just for kicks, here’s the nifty trailer that Maggie did:

3 Comments leave one →
  1. jenny permalink
    December 11, 2012 12:20 am

    Yeah, everyone is raving about this one. I need to just pick it up.

  2. December 11, 2012 9:50 am

    I’ve never tried her work yet I adore her. She is so talented and energetic. I really want to try this book!

  3. December 11, 2012 4:22 pm

    I have her last book, but I had no idea what this one was about. It sounds like something that I would love, and I must see about grabbing the audio from the library when I can. Seriously excellent review today. I loved the enthusiasm and the ardor!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.