Skip to content

Steve Jobs – Walter Isaacson

July 17, 2012


Genre: Adult Nonfiction/Biography
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
656 pages
ISBN: 9781451648539
Source: Bookstore

Oh, dear sweet book, parting is such sweet sorrow.

I think I’ve been trying to finish this book for a good nine months, at this point. It’s not bad or slow or dense; it’s simply taken a backseat to other things I’ve been reading. It really is a good read.

In many ways, Steve Jobs has shaped my entire life; I just didn’t realize those ways until I picked up Isaacson’s book. I mean, sure, I could talk about the literary parts of the book, dissect the writing (which was fine albeit nothing sparkling) but all I really came away with was the need to review a life, rather than a biography.

Perhaps that speaks to Isaacson’s skill as a biographer or, perhaps, it speaks more strongly to a man whose life reads as fiction. Whatever the case, the man, the myth, the legend and the total nut that was or, hey, remains, Steve Jobs is, at least in essence, alive in our world, beyond adult tantrums, bad product launches and even death.

Basically, from programming tiny “turtles” in my elementary Computer Labs on the original Macintosh to Siri, I’m a Mac Gal. Looking around my house and realizing that everything from our phones to our desktop to the tablet that my four-year old and nine month old can operate came out of the genius and, yes, madness of Steve Jobs, gives me some sort of sick artistic pride.

I can’t help it and neither can my husband; we’ll never own anything else. For us, the frustration of the competition just isn’t worth the lesser price tag. When our school finally made it to the black, the first thing we bought was a new desktop. You know what we had been using before then? Our refurbished iMac from 2003. And it was still running fantastically eight years later.

So basically, for us, the products have always and will always sell themselves. In reading about his life, I feel much the same way about the man. Now, my stepdad, a lifelong computer geek in the same generation (give or take a few seconds) as Jobs, will tell you horror stories about the man and I can see that, given his well written about temper and demeanor.

But, hey, isn’t that genius?

After all, didn’t genius give us this?

See? Genius is rarely sane (though the memes are fantastic) but the end result is always worth keeping alive. All in all, the book is does what Jobs had always harped on for his products: in its simplicity and elegance, it allows the true meat, the engineering, in this case, the life and times of Steve, himself, shine through the clear lines and stark background. No bells or whistles, but in the end, still pure perfection on the parts of both Jobs and Isaacson.

One Comment leave one →
  1. zibilee permalink
    July 17, 2012 12:33 pm

    My husband also loves Macs and all the Apple products he can get his hands on. He is reading this one right now, and I expect that it will be mine to read soon. Great review on this one today!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

