Skip to content

Beautiful Darkness ~ Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

March 24, 2012


Genre: Young Adult Fiction
Publisher: Little Brown Books for Young Readers
512 pages
ISBN: 9780316077057
Source: Bookstore

Like any good first book in a series, Beautiful Creatures ended with a less than stellar outlook for our young lovers.  Wrapped up in a world of caster magic and southern secrets, we ended the first act on the edge of our seats, headed toward the adventure segment of the entertainment.

Oh and adventure it was!

I was warned by several folks that the second book was a little dull. Ah, but, see, I am a product of Narnia and The Wizard of Oz so much so that a book based on long, winding, magic searches appeals to my inner kid and my not so inner thrill seeker.

As Lena deals with the tragic fallout of her sort of birthday, she begins pulling away at the beginning of the book. Of course it becomes incredibly clear from the start that all is not right in castorland and things may not be under Lena’s control as much as she claims. Ethan can only stand by and watch for so long before barreling, stupidly into trouble again.This time he’s bringing his merry band of misfits, with a few added players to love, along for the ride and leaving Gatlin behind.

I mean, I don’t what else I can say aside from loudly professing my giddy love for this series. Of course I adore that it takes place in the south and this time around we get to see a little bit of my lovely state via some very unmortal-like traveling techniques.  The best parts, for me were the friendships between our travelers, more so than the love story in this one. Although Ethan’s connection to Lena was what drove the adventure forward, there was much more excitement to be found in the bonds of family and friendship.

I have already gone off the diving board into Beautiful Chaos and my one and only regret is that I didn’t wait until October to start the series as that’s when the final and fourth book will hit shelves. I just can’t wait that long! If you haven’t picked up this series, I highly recommend it even if you’re not a southern dwelling, magic loving adventure fiend, I do promise you’ll find something to enjoy.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

