Skip to content

Never Have I Ever ~ Sara Shepard

February 25, 2012



Genre: Young Adult Fiction
Publisher: HarperTeen
320 pages
ISBN: 9780061869723
Source: Bookstore

After a few weeks of swapping her worn-out foster life for her deceased twin’s former high life, Emma Paxton is still on the case. She is playing the part of her ex-sibling to solve the mysterious factors that landed said twin, Sutton, in a rather otherworldly position. And by “otherworldly”, I mean “dead”. Though the dilemma of mismatched identity is becoming old hat, the drama of the still unsolved disappearance has no hope of getting old any time soon.

The relationships she thought she had built, during the first installment, shift and shatter, leaving her to both trust and question everything and nothing.

This series is exactly why I love reading, yet ate reviewing, books in series. I feel like I cou;d do a seriously bang up review if I knew everyone had read the first book but I know that’s not true. It’s especially difficult, in this case, since the entire four book series explores the mystery. It’s not simply a series that answers a whodunit in a single volume.

Though I can’t give much away, I can still tell you that I’m well addicted to this little adventure. Yes, it’s pretty young for my reading habits but it’s also incredibly fun. For a mystery, it’s certainly comprised of enough twists and turns. I’m sure that, as soon as I find out who the killer is, it will seem as though it was obvious from the beginning but, for right now, I can tell you that I’m totally in the dark. I’m dying, here, knowing that the third book is going to be done within a day and then I’ll have to wait until this summer for all of the answers. Eek!

I also have to add a side note: I have no idea how they’ve made this into a t.v. series! I know that Shepard’s other mystery thriller series, Pretty Little Liars, has been given the same treatment but it’s a much longer series and it’s also, I think, complete. I might be tempted to investigate the show, later this summer, when the last book is out. No possible spoilers for me, thank you!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

