Skip to content

BTT: Digital Dropout

November 10, 2011

btt button

E-readers like the Kindle and iPad are sweeping the nation … do you have one? Do you like it? Do you find it changes your reading/buying habits?

If you don’t have one, do you plan to?

(And yes, e-readers and e-books do come up periodically, and yes, we’ve had similar questions in the past, but things change so quickly … it’s worth revisiting.)

I’ve answered this, before, I know I have. The answer still hasn’t changed from my previous thoughts, unfortunately. One would think that with the amount I spend on the computer and my iPhone, that an eReader would be a natural transition. But really, I just can’t do it. I’m not sure if it’s about the digital processing issue that I have when it comes to a flat screen or whether I just need a break from the regularly scheduled amount of time I do spend with technology. Whatever it is, I know that reading on a digital surface, doesn’t fly when it comes to novels. I need the pages, actual physical pages, in my hands. I know it’s not green but I just can’t do it any other way. I even tried to buy a book on my iPad, the other day. I got through about 20 pages and ended up buying the paper version. Does anyone else have this problem? I’m sure that eventually, those of us still clinging to paper copies, will be squeezed out by the digital age and we’ll all end up having to adapt. for now, I like my warm little books in my warm little hands.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 10, 2011 10:39 am

    I used to feel that I could never adjust to digital reading, but somehow I have managed to get really into reading on the Kindle. I much prefer physical books and would have to say that I do 90% of my reading with physical books, and I don’t think that will ever change, but nothing beats having a book in your hands only seconds after you’ve downloaded it. I also tend to read faster on my digital device. I do understand those who don’t read on a digital device though, and can totally support that opinion!

  2. November 10, 2011 10:41 am

    I tend to agree with you, but I am curious to give it a try.

  3. November 10, 2011 12:56 pm

    I agree with you! An actual book feels great, looks great! I spend enough time on my computer and my phone that its nice to move away from the screen every once in awhile!

    here’s my answer – http://eatupmyfreetime.wordpress.com/2011/11/10/e-volution/

  4. November 10, 2011 3:21 pm

    I love my hard books, but I’m also addicted to audios, and there is room for my Kindle in my life. Like when I go overseas for three weeks, and I can’t drag everything with me. But you are not the only one that feels the way you do. Books cannot be replaced.

  5. November 11, 2011 12:16 am

    I have absolutely no interest in this new technology.
    I hate reading long blocks of text on a screen.

    I’ll be sticking with books.

  6. November 11, 2011 10:47 pm

    I used to feel the same way about ereaders until I bought one. I just thought an ereader was something interesting to have. I mostly read from paper books still but I do use my reader for thicker books or ones my library don’t have in paper format.

  7. November 11, 2011 11:07 pm

    I love my Kindle … love it. But I could see that it isn’t for everyone.

  8. November 11, 2011 11:36 pm

    i like my print books best too. just can’t adjust to ereaders, and i don’t want to.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

