Skip to content

Ready Player One ~ Ernest Cline

November 2, 2011


Genre: Adult Fiction/ Dystopian/Science Fiction
Publisher: Crown
384 pages
ISBN: 9780307887436
Source: Book store

I am a child of the 90′s and proud of it. I like to think that I missed out on all of the geekishness of the 80′s and went straight for the 90′s more organic, grunge thing.

Ah, but alas, it is not so easy to escape bad hair and Atari. It turns out that I am also a child of no less than three computer programmers and the sister, sister-in-law and wife to “gamers”. Because many of my loved ones went to engineering school, were in bands with neck-tie keyboards and consider a hot date night to be snuggling in with their significant others and playing WOW, I have, by default, acquired some nerd knowledge.

Because of this, I feel like I can rightfully announce that I have a serious crush on Ready Player One.

Now, look, you don’t actually have to be a gamer or even know one to get the book. You don’t even have to design your wedding cake to look like this:

(Made by my sister-in-law for a family friend’s wedding. Check out her site at http://www.buckheadbakehouse.com)

It’s more about political science fiction than it is plain old geek fact. Sure, there are a few things that you may need to google but those are more along the lines of 80′s pop culture than anything gamer related.  It’s yet another near-apocalyptic dystopian bit but this time, it’s all played out in the hunt for a dead billionaire’s hidden easter egg within a massive multiplayer online game.

Whoever finds the egg wins mega bucks and the ability to control the game which almost everyone, worldwide plugs into for free. The best part is that the bad guys are threatening to commercialize the currently free network if they win the egg. I think it’s cute given the current events playing out around the world, related to such topics.

Oh, but wait! There’s more.

Sure it’s about gaming, the 80′s and sticking it to the man but it’s also about something else.

It’s about human ature and love and friendship and the assumptions we make when we aren’t given physical prejudices when we first interact. There’s also maybe  a message about not losing yourself in virtual reality and giving yourself over to the outside forces of natural light.

It’s a pretty cool, deep little story that I think will appeal to people way outside the gamer realm but one that will hopefully measure up to gamer standards. And of course, the song that played in my head during the whole reading was Tom Sawyer by Rush.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 3, 2011 3:11 pm

    I am listening to this one right now, and it is expertly narrated by Wil Wheaton. It is a great story, and I am loving it, but strangely, there are times when I feel less excited about the story. Most of the time, I think this happens when I have other pressing concerns on my mind, but it also coincides with the sections that are devoted to life in the real world versus the virtual world. I am not even halfway through, so I need to get some serious listening time in! Great review today. I am glad you loved the book, and I love that cake!

  2. November 4, 2011 10:03 pm

    OK … coolest wedding cake ever! Love it!

    And wasn’t this book just a kick? I enjoyed it so much.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

