Skip to content

TSS: I Coulda Been a Cheerleader…

October 23, 2011

The Sunday Salon.com

I should have known.

No, I mean, I get it: I’m not terribly good at judging, yet, what I can, or better what I can not, do with two boys. Needless to say, I did not even finish one single little book, yesterday. But I’m ok with it. I’ve learned that I am actually not a very fast reader. I manage to finish between two and four books a week, generally, but I’m not really one to read like a whole stack in, say, 24 hours. 

This doesn’t mean that I won’t be participating in future readathons, though I will probably know how to better structure my reading day and night to get more done.

Altogether, I think I managed to get through two half-books.  

I think that, by far, my favorite part of readathons or any blogging event, is the community aspect. As such, I think that my goal for next time will be along the lines of the cheering crowd. I like the pep but not the pressure. 

In other news, I did have some very cute help while I was so busy not finishing any of my books…

Congrats to all who  participated and met goals. It’s been seriously cool to watch all of you work away!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 23, 2011 11:50 am

    I am impressed that you even tried, with a young son and a new baby! :–)

  2. October 23, 2011 1:11 pm

    I’m with Jill; it was great that you tried participating with two babies. When my kids were younger it was so hard to do a read-a-thon. I think cheerleading is one of the best aspects of the read-a-thon. It’s so fun.

  3. October 23, 2011 3:00 pm

    Just craving out the time to say I’m going to read all day is wonderful. Who cares if you didn’t read a dozen books. You participated and that’s what it is all about.

  4. October 23, 2011 4:45 pm

    The little man looks intensely interested in The Leftovers! Perhaps you should read that one to him! I had a great readathon, and got quite a lot done. Of course, I would have liked to get in just one more book, but I was ok with what I accomplished. I am looking forward to doing it again in April!

  5. October 23, 2011 9:22 pm

    I love that picture!!! Believe me, I remember those times when my boys were small and very demanding (though in a good way). I wouldn’t worry about it at all at this stage of your life and just do whatever you can!!!

  6. October 23, 2011 9:26 pm

    I didn’t participate in the readathon officially this year. In previous years even when I said I was reading I didn’t manage to read much at all. This year….finished three books yesterday!

  7. October 24, 2011 4:29 pm

    I’m impressed that you tried too!

  8. October 25, 2011 10:11 am

    Is that a Fear The Turtle shirt?! Go Terps! :) And I second (or third, or fourth) everyone’s comments — you did well to try, and that’s the important thing! I’m a fast reader if I’m uninterrupted, but that doesn’t happen terribly often. We have to grab our little dribs and drabs of reading time whenever we can!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

