Skip to content

Bossypants ~ Tina Fey

October 12, 2011


Genre: Adult Non Fiction/Humor
Publisher: Reagan Arthur Books
288 pages
ISBN: 9780316056861
Source: Gift from a Friend

So, I’m probably the last person on earth to read this but I have my reasons. Mostly, those reasons have to do with laziness but I feel like laziness is good enough if not simply good. Whatever, I don’t have to explain myself to you. The point is that I did read it, eventually, and I was well rewarded. This was, like my foray into Sedaris, a gift from a ¬†parent at school during my hospital stay and, really, I should do that more often (joke!) as it clearly, expands my reading in a positive way.

I have always enjoyed Fey’s bits on SNL (though I’m not a die hard fan of the show) and while I’ve never watched 30 Rock, I know it’s pretty funny. The book isn’t really a memoir but it’s not really just a straight essay collection. It’s sort of just like Tina, talking to herself or to us or to everyone or, you know, like…no one. It spins through her life, a bit like a memoir but I hate memoirs and I loved this so, therefore, LSAT logic style, it couldn’t possibly be a memoir.

Whatever it isn’t, it’s definitely one thing and that one thing is funny. Sure, it’s heartfelt, sappy, edgy and honest in parts but it’s mostly just laugh out loud, crying tears of joy, hysterical. I mean, I know everyone else has said this but, honestly and truly, it’s just that hilarious. Now, you have to like subtle silliness. It’s not Will Ferrell and Charlie Chaplain but it has all of these little lines that just make you just pee.

I have to say that I’m an absolute sucker and after reading the book, now plan to wholeheartedly throw myself into appreciating 30 Rock while on maternity leave. Mostly, I’m commiting myself to this because, yes, I really did enjoy the book, or really, Tina, that much that I must have more.

If you haven’t read this, yet, please make me feel better and bump me up from the bottom rung of the ladder, carrying the title of “the last person ever to read this book”. Read it and you can thank me later.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 12, 2011 11:49 pm

    I haven’t read it but its on my “to-read” list. I try to stick to only happy or baby-related books when I am preggo. So you are definitely not the last one to read this book. Bump.

  2. October 13, 2011 10:21 am

    I listened to this a few weeks ago on audio, and loved it. Fey has such a great and witty way of telling stories, and her delivery is just spot on. I am having a hard time writing a review of it though, and am hoping to be able to capture some of the flavor, but not having much success. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed this one. It was just a hilarious book.

  3. October 13, 2011 9:46 pm

    I just loved this book. I listened to it on audio (she read it herself) and it was a joy to listen to. And I love 30 Rock! I can’t wait until she writes another book.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

