Skip to content

Wonderstruck ~ Brian Selznick; Brian Selznick (Illustrator)

October 8, 2011


Genre: Middle Grade – Young Adult Fiction
Publisher: Scholastic Press
608 pages
ISBN: 9780545027892
Source: Book store

So, I may be admitting to serious sin, here but I did not read Hugo before embarking on Wonderstruck. Though Wonderstruck has been seriously buzzed and well-loved, I have noticed that some folks, especially those that I rely on for story reviews, have not been quite as charmed by this second offering by Selznick. I have to say that I’m pretty happy then, that I read Wonderstruck first as I absolutely loved it. Sure, it’s simple and sweet but it’s magical all the same. I started reading it to my three and a half-year old  and he was definitely able to follow the story. The words are simple, yet elegant and the stories are just perfectly put together.

For those who have not heard, by now, the book is composed of two stories, one in text, the other in pictures. Selznick is just as talented with his illustrations as he is with his words. The stories told in both mediums are brilliant and well crafted. I wasn’t sure I would like the illustrated one as much as I’m not a big picture fan, never have done movies or graphic novels very well. Needless to say, I found that this style did actually work for me.

I love the way that the two stories eventually meet up.  I knew they would, eventually, for, hey, why have them in the same book, but I didn’t really see the outcome coming before it landed. There is the obvious Pam-draw in its serious focus on the Natural History Museum which I can’t say too much about. Just read the book, sillies. We all know I’m obsessed with museum-like stories but this just takes it to a whole new level because, goodness, there are pictures. That was also a draw for Kai as he has inherited (or has been forced into) his mother’s love of all things collections.

Overall, this was a wonderful experience for both my own reading preferences and Kai’s bedtime story enjoyment.

As for Kai’s favorite part? “I liked the little girl”.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 8, 2011 10:50 am

    I have this on the top of my pile waiting to be read. I really loved Hugo Cabret, and can’t wait to see how they compare! Love Kai’s comment!

  2. October 8, 2011 11:58 am

    I have seen this book all over, but didn’t know what it was all about, so your review was very enlightening to me. I am really glad that you and Kai enjoyed it, and you wrote a really great review on it!

  3. October 8, 2011 12:56 pm

    I have this on my tbr pile too. I am glad you mentioned not reading Hugo. I haven’t read it and now I will be sure to read Wonderstruck first. I was drawn to the artwork in the book. Now I can’t wait to read it. Kai is an up and coming reviewer! He gets right to the point! I love it! Great review from both of you!

  4. October 8, 2011 10:31 pm

    Wonderstruck is on my tbr list. I’m waiting for my library to send it to me. Glad that you enjoyed it so much.

  5. October 9, 2011 9:16 pm

    I’m glad to hear you say it was OK to read with a young child. I wasn’t sure if it would be a good choice for my son and I to tackle together and now I know! I haven’t checked out this author either but I’ve heard such raves.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

