Skip to content

BTT: People Are Strange

October 6, 2011

btt button




What’s the oddest book you’ve ever read? Did you like it? Hate it? Did it make you think?

Oh goodness. I’ve read some pretty strange books! I think that there are  books that everyone acknowledges as strange with a purpose, like, oh, anything written by Thomas Pynchon and Kurt Vonnegut, and the  there are books that are strange just because they don’t make very much sense, unfortunately without trying. I think that the books that people think are just so strange that I’ve loved, hands down are, largely misunderstood. Here, I will share:



Oh, and yes, I did love these even though they were, by and large, “strange”. I think that, often, “strange”, again, is just misunderstood. I think that, so many times, a writer goes out of his or her way to use allegory or allusion in describing a particular vision or philosophy but decodes said philosophy within fiction and it makes it, altogether, a little “odd”. I obviously love it!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. October 6, 2011 9:01 am

    This was a difficult one for me, but I finally thought of one that seemed odd to me.

  2. October 6, 2011 10:15 am

    I try to read Pynchon every couple of years or so, and fail spectacularly each time. ONe of these days…!!!

  3. October 6, 2011 10:17 am

    I’ve not read any of these books! I’d have to really sit and think about what book I’ve read that’s been the strangest. I’m sure I’ve read a few! :)

  4. October 6, 2011 10:21 am

    Strange is hard to define, but I do think you’re right – most of the time when a book is really strange to me it’s because I don’t understand it.

  5. October 6, 2011 11:01 am

    The one I thought of wasn’t just odd/strange, it was odd/ridiculous. :) Stop by and say hi!

    Cindy @ Cindy’s Book Club

  6. October 6, 2011 1:54 pm

    Kurt Vonnegut’s books are definitely odd but super awesome!

    Heres mine: http://eatupmyfreetime.wordpress.com/2011/10/06/booking-through-thursday-odd/

  7. October 6, 2011 3:48 pm

    Great choices — I haven’t read them as I’m not one for strange books — which sort of embarrasses me. I’m so pedestrian in my tastes at times!!

  8. October 6, 2011 10:18 pm

    I haven’t read any of the three “strange” books you listed!

  9. October 7, 2011 4:00 pm

    The strangest book I have ever read was called The Third Policeman, and it had a lot to do with sentient and sinister bicycles. Very odd read, but one of my favorites. I haven’t read any of your choices, but I will have to look into them. I love weird!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

