Skip to content

BTT: History

August 25, 2011

btt button

Sometimes I feel like the only person I know who finds reading history fascinating. It’s so full of amazing-yet-true stories of people driven to the edge and how they reacted to it. I keep telling friends that a good history book (as opposed to some of those textbooks in school that are all lists and dates) does everything a good novel does–it grips you with real characters doing amazing things.

Am I REALLY the only person who feels this way? When is the last time you read a history book? Historical biography? You know, something that took place in the past but was REAL.

I used to love this sort of thing. I’ve read so many true histories over the years due to and leading up to my political science degree. I don’t know if I got burned out from school or if the state of the world during the college years simply turned me off of history for the moment but I haven’t as a post college adult, really found myself that deep in history. I have found that I occasionally enjoy historical fiction and I definitely enjoy reading shorter bits about history such as magazine articles, museum blurbs and of course, my husband’s ongoing fascination with all things History Channel. But no. As it stands, right now, I’m really not much of a history book reader. I do expect this to change as I move in and out of various stages of my life, of course, but for now, I’m not a bit interested.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Veens permalink
    August 25, 2011 5:21 am

    Generally, I like read historical fiction too. A little bit here and there is great. But I am not fully blown history lover or anything. History is fascinating but very depressing too.

    I read Sarah’s Key, and felt depressed for days. I just could not get out the image of the Jews being taken to camps and the families split up and then small kids been left all alone. I just could not get Sarah out of my mind for a long long time. I came to know about something I had no idea about, and it pained me to no end.

    I think I like watching movies too. Like the other day I was watching Gandhi, and it showed so many things I did not know about India and it’s struggle for freedom.

  2. August 25, 2011 8:58 am

    I feel the same way you do!

    TRISH- Here’s my BTT Post

  3. August 25, 2011 9:52 am

    I like historical fiction a heck of a lot, but for some reason, history books seem to scare me. I am not sure if I will find them dry and unflavored like cardboard, or what the problem really is. All I know is that I do learn a lot from historical fiction, and I get a lot of character growth and intrigue all at the same time, so I don’t really have a compunction to read history. Sometimes I will read a historical biography on occasion.

  4. August 25, 2011 9:55 am

    I have to agree with you! As much as I try to get into certain books that contain history, I find myself checking out other fictional works. Life is so busy these days, it’s nice to get wrapped up in something that is exciting where it’s not entirely real.

    Great post! :)

    http://amylunderman.blogspot.com/2011/08/booking-through-thursday-my-clockwork.html

  5. August 25, 2011 11:59 am

    It was probably the state of the world that did it!
    Here’s Mine

  6. August 25, 2011 12:34 pm

    I am all about a good historical fiction… but don’t know if I could stomach a non-fiction…. unless it comes highly recommended!
    Here is my answer!

  7. August 25, 2011 12:45 pm

    I like both, but my favorite is historical fiction.

  8. August 25, 2011 12:57 pm

    I enjoy history, but it’s not easy reading, and as I get more lazy, I find myself gravitating to the books that take less concentration!

  9. August 25, 2011 1:50 pm

    Both “can” be good, it’s just hard to find.

    House Millar – BTT

    Aine

  10. August 25, 2011 2:52 pm

    It really just depends on how well it is done for me. Some can be pretty boring.

    Here is my BTT answer.

  11. August 25, 2011 6:41 pm

    I don’t mind reading about history, but I want it to read like fiction!

  12. August 26, 2011 2:30 am

    I understand completely! I wonder what it was about school/uni that has put so many of us off reading history in our spare time. Maybe we need a new genre – historical chicklit?

    http://thebookgatherer.blogspot.com/2011/08/booking-through-thursday-history-books.html

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

