Skip to content

On A More Positive Note…

August 19, 2011

I just had to find this after mentioning it. This was one of the first adaptations I was ever priviliged to see, almost before I really “got” Shakespeare in his own work. Now, I know, it’s a full Hollywood set and to compare that to a book just isn’t fair. I still think that it’s just about as perfect as a “modern” (gosh, am I really this old, now?) telling can possibly be. It totally gives me chills.

Oh, and of course, there is my beloved¬†West Side Story¬†which comes in a very close second. Second? Really? When has West Side ever come in second anywhere in my book? Well, like I’ve mentioned countless times, this week, I’m just a sucker for the original playwright’s words. Sorry, Maria.

Happy Friday, Verona!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 19, 2011 10:37 am

    I can’t remember seeing the Claire Dane one. I have to put that on my netflix queue. My husband and I are both huge fans of WSS, so we’ve seen it 8 gazillion times. I never get tired of it!

    • August 19, 2011 10:57 am

      Oh, it’s super! I love it because it’s just SO grunge/MTV in style but it’s all the original language so the creative license is only with the set and costumes. Really, it’s one of my favorite movies.

  2. August 19, 2011 11:52 am

    Oh, I loved that movie to bits. I remember seeing it ans having a little swoon over how romantic it all was. That Leo is such a cutie, and a darn good actor as well!

  3. Veens permalink
    August 19, 2011 12:13 pm

    Oh! I have not seen either of these movies :)I guess I should check if our local library has it.

  4. August 19, 2011 2:15 pm

    I have not seen this Romeo and Juliet, but West Side Story is one of my favorites; I cry every time I see that end with There’s a place for us…sob…

  5. August 21, 2011 10:47 am

    West Side Story is a good adaptation of Shakespeare, a classic!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

