Skip to content

Murder on the Orient Express ~ Agatha Christie

August 2, 2011


Genre: Adult Fiction/ Mystery
Publisher: Black Dog & Leventhal Publishers
272 pages
ISBN: 9781579126230
Source: Book Store

Picture yourself on a Paris-bound train in the middle of a snow storm. Usually a vacant vehicle, this time of year, the Orient Express is rather full. Suspiciously full. All goes, crowdedly well until an unlikable, well-to-do American passenger is stabbed to death in his cabin.

Because of the snow, the train is stuck in the vast whiteness with no way on or off. This, of course, makes finding the culprit pretty easy. Or so one would think. The problem lies in the train’s passengers, all of whom seem to be guilty of one thing or another while also remaining frustratingly innocent.

This is the dilemma that meets detective Hercule Poirot on his journey home, one fateful winter night. One of the, now world famous, stars of Agatha Christie’s many novels Poirot is faced with a seriously puzzling issue in the middle of nowhere with no modern (or even modern for the 20’s) devices of detection.

This was a deliciously exciting story, oh man! I can’t believe I’ve held out on Christie for so long. Though the whole plot and outcome seemed totally out there (you’ll have to read it to believe it), it was awesome fun and very well built. For a little book, it’s seriously detailed and all of the pieces ended up fitting in perfectly.

I haven’t read anything else by Christie, yet, but I’d have to believe this would be a good place to start. I’m off to collect some more. I suggest that you do the same.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 2, 2011 12:34 pm

    Christie is an author that I have wanted to, and been meaning to read for a long time, but never have gotten around to. It sounds like this book was the prefect little gem and started you down a path of hungering for more Christie books, so maybe I should start here too! Great review! This book goes on the ever growing list!

  2. August 2, 2011 12:53 pm

    I’m hooked too!

  3. August 2, 2011 1:49 pm

    I enjoyed this but don’t think I enjoyed it as much as you did. I wanted there to be clues to help the reader solve the mystery.

  4. August 2, 2011 4:09 pm

    It’s been many, many years since I’ve read Christie. I actually read her as a child when I borrowed my brother’s and mother’s books. I will have to pick this up at the library and give it a go. I remember enjoying her books quite a bit.

  5. August 2, 2011 10:35 pm

    I remember seeing the movie version of this when I was a tween and having NIGHTMARES because they kept showing how everyone could have done the murder and they showed it over and over.

  6. August 3, 2011 9:09 am

    I got this and a couple of other ones from Bookperk. I read And Then There Were None. It was really good. I’ll have to try this one now!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

