Skip to content

BTT: age innapropriate

May 19, 2011

In contrast to last week’s question–What do you think of censoring books BECAUSE of their intended age? Say, books too “old” for your kids to read?

As mentioned last week, books transcend age, for me. However, there are books that need discussions before being read. We haven’t crossed any of those, yet, with Kai but I’m sure we will soon!

Generally, I dont put an age in knowledge as ling as discussions on difficult topics are had.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. May 19, 2011 5:57 am

    Great answer. I pretty much think it depends on the kid as an individual. Mine is here

  2. May 19, 2011 8:32 am

    I think you are spot on! I would much rather know what my children are reading and be able to discuss it than ban things and risk them reading it in secret.

  3. May 19, 2011 9:24 am

    Definitely agree. Turning it into an open discussion rather than out right banning something.

  4. May 19, 2011 10:28 am

    Kids growing up is so hard. I think books help to help us discuss difficult topics.

    If you are interested, my answer is here.

  5. May 19, 2011 10:34 am

    I don’t believe in censoring, but I do believe in discussion when a book might be a little graphic or may deal with a difficult subject. I never had my reading censored as a child, and I don’t think I would have liked it, so hence, I don’t do that to my kids.

  6. May 19, 2011 10:50 am

    Good answer….here’s mine at my MY THURSDAY MEMES POST

  7. May 19, 2011 5:40 pm

    Really good answer. I was a stubborn child and deliberately read a lot of “adult” books simply because I wanted to know what all the fuss was about. And because I was pretty much the only one who read in my family, I got away with reading things that I probably shouldn’t have. In hindsight I can see that it would have been nice if my parents had looked further than just the cover and title of the book – a lot of my early reads definately shaped me. Funny, there was this one librarian who wouldn’t let me borrow adult books, but I quickly found out what days she was off and borrowed them then.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

