Skip to content

Birds of a Feather ~ Jacqueline Winspear

March 1, 2011


Genre: Adult Fiction/Mystery
Publisher: Penguin (Non-Classics)
336 pages
ISBN: 9780143035305
Source: Book store

More established after several more cases that have passed between book one and Birds of a Feather, Maisie and Billy have made quite a name for themselves. Suddenly they are in high demand, answering inquiries from wealthy Mr. Waite. Seems that Mr. Waite’s daughter, Charlotte has gone missing, yet again, and to keep his well-to-do family’s good name out of the paper, Mr. Wait is willing to do anything to catch and contain his wayward kid.

Tracking down the feisty young woman should be no job for our dynamic duo but when it appears that both Charlotte and her father have more than a few mysterious links to a string of recent murders, the case suddenly takes on more, er, weight and fast.

This is a careful examination of war, peace and the gray area that lurks long in the middle. Expanding on Maisie’s previous themes of family, camaraderie, war, suffrage and independence, Winspear’s second novel, Birds of a Feather sends this series down a deeper and darker road than the one previously covered. I’ve been impressed, so far, with the way the perils of conflict and combat are handled in seemingly simple novels. I was afraid that the war would only be examined in the first volume but it has become a developing theme that I have to say I really enjoy.

As I suspected, upon attaching to the thicker plot, toward the end of the first book, the rest of the series is proving to be incredibly readable and must faster than I had predicted. I am hoping that with a firm grasp on the series, now, I can catch up, within a week, to be on target with the rest of the reading group.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2011 6:25 pm

    It’s been a few years since I read one of these books, but if my hazy memory can be relied upon, I think the next one, Pardonable Lies was my favorite of the bunch. It seemed the richest overall… And then it all went downhill with Messenger of Truth which was so bad it turned me off the series!

  2. March 3, 2011 1:25 pm

    I liked your review on this one, but am not sure if I am going to be going on with the rest of the series after having had some mixed reaction to the first book. I think the sections involving Maisie are really interesting, but I guess I just have to conclude that I am not really a mystery type of person. Glad to hear that you are enjoying the books, and I look forward to reading your thoughts on the others!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

