Skip to content

BTT: Periodically

January 20, 2011

btt button

Even I read things other than books from time to time … like, Magazines! What magazines/journals do you read?

Don’t forget to leave a link to your actual response (so people don’t have to go searching for it) in the comments—or if you prefer, leave your answers in the comments themselves!

This is really weird. I was actually just thinking about posting something along these lines. (Why do I always feel in sync with BTT?) My husband is a big periodical guy but I have been, consistently more of a book gal. I do, though, read several fitness magazines when I’m on the treadmill, just because they’re quick and easy blurbs that I can skim through on the go. I also read Mothering, but it only comes out every other month so it’s not a daily affair. I used to read McSweeny’s but I haven’t in a long time, though I miss it and need to pick it up, again.

I’ve always been the kind of person who would read anything, in sight, even if it’s the milk carton at breakfast. I think, largely, that’s why I used to read so many magazines. However, now that I’m blogging and feel like I should be reading and talking about books, it seems like a “waste” almost to read magazines when I “should’ be reading books. I know that sounds silly but I just can’t focus on short articles, any more. Weird? I don’t know.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2011 5:47 am

    Since I live in Germany, I don’t read as magazines as I would if I lived in the US. I used to have an international subscription to EW ($100 a year), but now I just buy it when I am home. I also like to read The Economist sometimes.

    Since I got my color Nook, I also have a subscription to Marie Claire. Cool!

  2. January 20, 2011 6:11 am

    Magazines seem more like a distraction than an actual Thing to Read. I used to devour copies of magazines whole, but now I just read an article from time to time and acquire a stack of partially nibbled ones.

    @ Lenore: I had no idea that there were magazines shifting into e-text format, though it doesn’t surprise me. Seems like the dimensions would be off, though.

  3. January 20, 2011 12:54 pm

    I never read magazines, other than when I am in the checkout line at the grocery store. I am really only a reader of books and online articles.

  4. January 20, 2011 3:34 pm

    Gosh, I’ve never even heard of McSweeney’s. Now I gotta go look that up, LOL. My curiosity gets the best of me.

  5. January 20, 2011 4:48 pm

    I’ve been toying with the idea of subscribing to McSweeneys. Maybe I shall.

    I only really read magazines when visiting the “restroom.” And I choose appropriate ones for that activity … like US Weekly. : )

  6. January 21, 2011 9:30 pm

    I sort of feel the same way about magazines being a waste of time, but I still love to read them!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

